Headlines | Linux | Apps | Coding | BSD | Admin | News
Information for Linux System Administration 

Linux File Types


There are 7 Linux file types: regular files, directories, character device files, block device files, domain sockets, named pipes and symbolic links. This tutorial explains each with illustrations.
Device files are assigned both a “major” and a “minor” number. (An “ls -l” command will show you these instead of the file size that you’d see for regular files.) The major number refers to the device driver, and the minor number tells you which physical device goes with that file.
 read more | mail this link | score:7536 | -aweber, January 4, 2011
More Linux articles...

Fine Art Online Gallery

linux headlines

Tutorial: Replace Windows with Linux Mint 15

ROSA Desktop Fresh 2012 GNOME preview

How to customize Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon

Stella: RH/CentOS 6.3 based Desktop OS

Linux Deepin 12.06 preview

ROSA Marathon 2012 review


Firefox sidebar

Site map

Site info

News feed


(to post)


Articles are owned by their authors.   © 2000-2012 Ray Yeargin